Home  |  What's New  |  Features  |  Gallery  |  Reviews  |  Reference  |  Forum  |  Search

Desert Roadrunners
F-16Cs of the New Mexico Air National Guard

Afterburner Decals, 1/48 scale

 

Summary

Catalogue Number:

Afterburner Decals AD 48-043 - Desert Roadrunners

Scale:

1/48

Contents and Media:

Waterslide decals plus instructions and notes

Price:

USD$15.00 available online from Afterburner Decals

Review Type:

FirstLook

Advantages:

Comprehensive sheet; 11 interesting subjects; outstanding support material; full markings sufficient for two full aircraft; stencil markings a'plenty.

Disadvantages:

 

Conclusion:

Superbly printed decals with comprehensive and well researched supporting information to give you real value for money


Reviewed by Rodger Kelly


HyperScale is proudly supported by Squadron

 

FirstLook

 

AD48-043 Desert Roadrunners is the second sheet in the latest round of releases from Afterburner Decals.  The sheet carries markings for 11 F-16Cs (Wing and line jets) of the 150th Fighter Wing’s 188th Fighter Squadron "Tacos" New Mexico Air National Guard at both Kirtland Air Force Base and Operation Iraqi Freedom combat jets from 2004 to 2007.

If you think that Afterburner Decals have an affinity with the F-16 you would be right as this sheet is their fifteenth covering the Viper.  The sheet is a bumper one too, as you get markings to replicate ten different machines. 

 

  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
  • My Gallery: Image
Thumbnail panels:
Now Loading

 

The individual options are:

  • F-16C Block 30 serial number 87-0310 at Kirtland Air Force Base, New Mexico between 2004 and 2006.  The machine is in the standard camouflage scheme consisting of overall Federal Standard 36270, with Federal Standard 36118 upper surfaces worn by the F-16 (as are all options on the sheet).  Markings include red edged yellow wing band marking on the top of the vertical stabiliser and a full colour road runner unit insignia on the vertical stabiliser nose art in the form of an eagle superimposed over a U.S. flag and the words ‘Lets Roll’ and an Outstanding Unit Award ribbon bar in colour with a V (for valour) device and two oak leaf clusters denoting multiple awards on both sides of the intake.
  • F-16C Block 30 serial number 86-0350 at Kirtland Air Force Base, New Mexico.  This bird is in the same scheme and same basic markings except the roadrunner and the ribbon bars are in lo-viz greys.  No nose art either.  From 2008.
  • F-16C Block 30 serial number 86-0357, 'Lethal Injection' at Balad Air Base, Iraq when the machine was participating in Operation Iraqi Freedom between 2007 and 2008.  In the standard scheme with artwork on the spine of the aircraft depicting a syringe wielding nurse riding a bomb.  The roadrunner is lo-viz and there is no ribbon bar.
  • F-16C Block 30 serial number 87-0277 at Balad Air Base, Iraq between 2007 and 2008.  In the standard scheme with 'Team America' artwork on the spine.  Lo-viz roadrunner and full colour ribbon bar.
  • F-16C Block 30 serial number 87-0292 at Balad Air Base, Iraq between 2007 and 2008.  In the standard scheme with a unit designed shield artwork on the spine.  Lo-viz roadrunner on the vertical stabiliser and full colour ribbon bar on the intake it also wears a red ribbon on the top of the vertical stabiliser above the yellow wing band the words ‘Red Tails in white on the port side and 332 EFS on the starboard side.
  • F-16C Block 30 serial number 87-0292 at Balad Air Base, Iraq between 2007 and 2008.  In the standard scheme with 'POW-MIA' artwork on the spine.  Lo-viz roadrunner on the vertical stabiliser and full colour ribbon bar on the intake.  She also wears mission markings on the port side of her nose.
  • F-16C Block 30 serial number 87-0304 at Balad Air Base, Iraq between 2007 and 2008.  In the standard scheme with 'We Will Never Forget' artwork on the spine.  Lo-viz roadrunner on the vertical stabiliser and full colour ribbon bar on the intake.
  • F-16C Block 30 serial number 87-0306, at Balad Air Base, Iraq between 2007 and 2008.  In the standard scheme with unit designed artwork on the spine.  Lo-viz roadrunner on the vertical stabiliser and full colour ribbon bar on the intake and mission markings on the port side of her nose.
  • F-16C Block 30 serial number 87-0328 at Balad Air Base, Iraq in 2004.  In the standard scheme with unit designed artwork on the spine.  Lo-viz roadrunner on the vertical stabiliser and full colour ribbon bar on the intake it also wears a red ribbon on the top of the vertical stabiliser above the yellow wing band the words ‘Red Tails in white on the port side and 332 EFS on the starboard side.
  • F-16C Block 30 serial number 87-0334 Iraq in 2004.  In the standard scheme with lo-viz roadrunner on the vertical stabiliser and full colour ribbon bar on the intake.
  • F-16D Block 30 serial number 86-0044 at Kirtland Air Force Base, New Mexico in 2004.  In the standard scheme with lo-viz roadrunner on the vertical stabiliser and full colour ribbon bar on both sides of the intake.

The decals themselves have been printed by Cartograf and are of their standard quality – excellent!  They are thin and have an absolute minimum of carrier film surrounding each design.  The colours are vivid and appear to be opaque enough to survive application with out bleed-through over the dark FS 36118 worn by the F-16.  Everything on my sample is in perfect register too.  You get four sheets with this release.  The larger one carries the vast majority of markings, two errata ones carrying replacement high and low viz roadrunners – I don’t know why they have done this as the ones on the main sheet look just fine to me, and a tiny one carrying the ‘Lets Roll’ artwork.  This last one has been made on an Alps printer by Archer Fine Transfers and must be applied over the white background that comes on the main sheet.

The support material accompanying the decals is amazing! There are five A-4 sized sheets in all that have printed on good quality glossy paper.  The first forms the “cover” for the sheet and shows three small left hand side profiles of three of the options on the “front” and a generic plan view and left hand side profile on the “rear” with colour keys matched to FS shades.  The rear of the sheet shows large left and right side profiles for each of the options.  

The second and third sheets shows large left and right hand side profiles for each whilst the fourth sheet carries left and right hand side profiles for the –D option as well as notes on the weapons (bombs) used by the F-16 as well as a ‘load out’ diagram on the front and notes on the Air National Guard and the New Mexico Air National Guard and modelling notes for 1/48 scale F-16s including the new Tamiya and Kinetic kits and available aftermarket accessories.

The final sheet carries a large line diagram to assist with the placement of stencil data.

Tamiya is the recommended kit.

The decals and support sheets come packed in a clear plastic zip-loc bag.

A full-on effort by Afterburner Decals!  It provides superbly printed decals with comprehensive and well researched supporting information to give you real value for money as far as I am concerned.

Thanks to Afterburner Decals for the sample


Review Copyright 2009 by Rodger Kelly
This Page Created on 19 January, 2009
Last updated 19 January, 2009

Back to HyperScale Main Page

Back to Reviews Page